For our final unit in Language Arts, we read a play named The Importance of Being Earnest, by Oscar Wilde. The play was quirky, comedic and filled with cool situations, making it a memorable experience to read and also watch on the big screen. After reading it, we had to display our understanding of the play by creating a portfolio of different responses to the play. We analyzed each act of the play, and that helped me in developing a thorough understanding of the play, which would later be tested in our End of the Year Language Arts exam.  Besides analyzing each act, I also included fun stuff, such as a character profile for each of the main characters, saying what they are like and what I would have them dress like. I also had a creative response to each act, varying from a diorama to an animated film. To end it all, I wrote a film review of Importance of Being Earnest, which I thought was better than the written form, as plays are meant to be seen. Overall, it was a fun experience. Now, if you ask me anything about this play, I’ll give you a good answer. Hopefully.

Click on the links below to find out more about the play and it’s playwright!

http://cmgww.com/historic/wilde/

The Importance of Being Earnest